HomeMobileAndroidGoogle Calendar’s latest update is a lifesaver for power users

Google Calendar’s latest update is a lifesaver for power users

Google is rolling out a major update that changes how secondary calendar ownership is handled, and it ensures that if you own a calendar, you can’t lose it.

Smiling woman using a smartphone in front of a Google Calendar icon, surrounded by a color palette, a muted notification bell, and a 'Focus Block' label.

If you like to use calendars to keep your life organized, I’m sure you’ve encountered this issue: You create a secondary calendar for a side project, only for the calendar to be forgotten about once said project is complete.

With what Google is rolling out now, secondary calendars being forgotten about will be less of a concern. Now, “all secondary calendars you own will consistently be displayed in your calendar list in Google Calendar.” The list appears within Google Calendar’s settings.

This change ensures that owners always have direct access to manage the settings, sharing permissions, and lifecycle of the calendars they are responsible for.

More control in GCal’s settings

A screenshot highlighting my calendar list in Google Calendar's settings.

This builds on Google’s November 2025 upgrade that introduced a dedicated ownership model, essentially ensuring that all secondary calendars have a single person responsible for its lifecycle and permissions.

What the update does is that it highlights secondary calendars on the settings page, even if said calendar is not pinned to your main view. You then have the option to pin these calendars to your main view (via the Show in calendar list toggle). Alternatively, you can keep them tucked away. “If you no longer wish to manage a specific calendar, you have the option to either delete it permanently for all subscribers or transfer ownership to someone else—allowing you to unsubscribe while ensuring the calendar remains active for the rest of the team,” wrote the tech giant.

Although this won’t apply to a large majority of users, it is worth noting that Google recommends limiting ownership to a maximum of 100 calendars per user. Users that exceed this number, Google will drip-feed these calendars back into your list gradually.

Google is taking it slow with this one. The feature begins rolling out today and will be widely available roughly around mid-February. It applies to all Google Workspace customers and users with personal Google accounts.

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Dominic
32534 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Milvus
131 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Nango Kala
6913 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Nicole Veronica
12029 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Nokonwaba Nkukhwana
12133 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Shaida Kate Naidoo
7043 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Ted Musemwa
7281 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Thapelo Manthata
7000 POSTS0 COMMENTS
Umr Jansen
6987 POSTS0 COMMENTS